Start Planning

Poland Public Holidays

Today – 4 April 2020 – is not a holiday in Poland.

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Poland and start planning to make the most of your time off.

All holidays in Poland are considered paid non-working dates with two exceptions. Easter Sunday and Whit Sunday (Pentecost) always fall on a Sunday and this is considered a day of rest in Poland. Only the employees who are actively scheduled to work on these days receive the day off with pay.

Polish holidays are regulated by the Non-working Days Act of 18 January 1951. This Act establishes the national holidays in the country and provides the government with the ability to establish one-time national holidays at their discretion. This Act also stipulates that any national holiday that falls on a Sunday during any given year must remain on that date. Paid holiday rates only apply to normal working days.

Polish labour laws require all employers to provide employees with a paid day off for all national holidays. Employees that are required to work on a national holiday based on their profession are guaranteed a paid day off in lieu of the holiday. Employment contracts cannot take away payment for national holidays or paid days off in lieu of a public holiday under this law.

Previous Years