Start Planning
School Holidays

Poland School Holidays 2023

This page contains a calendar of all 2023 school holidays in Poland. These dates are unlikely to be modified by the Ministry of Education. However, please check back regularly for any updates that may occur.

School Calendar 2022-2023

School HolidaysStartsFinishes
First Day of School1 Sep 2022
Christmas Break23 Dec 2022
31 Dec 2022
Winter Break (Group 3)*16 Jan 2023
29 Jan 2023
Winter Break (Group 2)*23 Jan 2023
5 Feb 2023
Winter Break (Group 4)*30 Jan 2023
12 Feb 2023
Winter Break (Group 1)*13 Feb 2023
26 Feb 2023
Spring Break6 Apr 2023
11 Apr 2023
Summer Break24 Jun 2023
31 Aug 2023

Please visit for the original release of the 2022-2023 approved calendar.

— Winter Break (Group 1): Lower Silesia, Masovia, Opole & West Pomerania
— Winter Break (Group 2): Podlaskie & Warmian-Masurian
— Winter Break (Group 3): Lublin, Łódź, Podkarpackie, Pomerania & Silesia
— Winter Break (Group 4): Kuyavia-Pomerania, Lubusz, Lesser Poland, Holy Cross Province & Great Poland

School holidays are determined by the Polish Ministry of Education for each school year. The school year in Poland starts in September and ends in June. Within each school year, there are three major holiday seasons (winter, spring and summer) as well as a Christmas break in late December each year.

The Ministry only determines school holiday dates for public schools in Poland, where the medium of teaching is in Polish. For international schools, please check your respective school websites for the list of school holidays.

Poland is divided into 16 provinces, known also as voivodeships. All provinces share the same school holiday dates except for the winter holidays. The winter holidays vary across different parts of Poland – it usually starts in late January/early February. This season is a prime time for families to go to the winter ski resort.

Similar to other European countries, summer holidays in Poland occur at the end of the school year – from June to the end of August. It is the busiest holiday season in Poland.